There are multiple scholarships available for undergraduate Media Arts and Studies students. The application process takes place during spring semester and scholarships are awarded in spring semester each year at the annual MDIA awards reception. See the application form for exact deadlines. Questions should be directed to the School of Media Arts and Studies at or (740) 593-4870.

  • Scholarship Information and Application 2015-2016
    Download as Word or PDF

Application deadline for 2015-16 school year scholarships:
March 16, 2015 at 4:30PM in Schoonover 319

Media Arts and Studies Scholarships

Christine T. Twardzik Memorial Scholarship 

This scholarship is to be awarded in honor of Christine T. Twardzik. For use during their senior year, applicants must be enrolled at the Athens Campus of Ohio University in the Scripps College of Communication School of Media Arts and Studies, show financial need and have a 3.0 grade point average.

Thomas H. Streich Memorial Scholarship
Recognizes achievement of a Junior or Senior in the Audio Sequence demonstrating promise and potential.

Ellen Woodward Memorial Scholarship
Awarded to a female student focusing on audio or radio production.

Roger E. Ailes Restricted Scholarship

A MDIA student who has demonstrated substantial media experience such as actively working with ACRN, WOUB, MDIA or outside facilities. Requires a minimum 3.4 GPA and a recommendation letter from work or internship supervisor.

Robert L. Coe Scholarship
Must be a full time undergraduate junior in the management sequence with an interest in broadcast engineering or broadcast management. Academic merit is the primary criteria with a secondary financial need.

Mickey Franko Memorial Scholarship
Given to a senior active in radio with a preference (but not limited to) students in the management sequence who have made positive contributions to the School.

Archie Greer Scholarship
Applicant must demonstrate academic merit. Preference is given to those contributing to ACRN.

Nationwide Foundation Scholarship

Awarded to sophomores, juniors and seniors majoring in MDIA who have a confirmed or pending internship. Must have a GPA of 2.5 or higher.

Leonard E. Auerbach Regional Representatives Scholarship
Awarded to a Junior or Senior interested in a career in media advertising sales with financial need.  Preference given to students with radio experience.

Phillip E. Schmidt Broadcasting Scholarship
Awarded to a Junior or Senior with a 3.2 GPA or higher and demonstrating financial need.

College of Communication General Scholarship
Awarded to a student with strong academic performance and financial need who makes outstanding contributions to the School of Media Arts & Studies. Minimum 3.4 GPA.

Jesse and Ruth Zousmer Scholarship

Awarded to a junior or senior based on academic achievement and financial need. This alternates annually between the School of Media Arts & Studies and the School of Journalism.

Douglas Hill Memorial Scholarship
Awarded to an audio student involved in media work outside class.Preference given to students with a demonstrated talent for writing, or in experimental or comedy forms. Demo CD required with application.

External Scholarships

There are a number of scholarships available to Media Arts & Studies students outside the School, which we're pleased to provide information for. This list is in no way comprehensive and we're always open to new opportunities.

Broadcast Education Association Scholarships
The BEA is the professional development association for professors, industry professionals and students involved in teaching and research related to radio, television, and other electronic media. The BEA administers fourteen scholarships annually, to honor broadcasters and the electronic media profession. The BEA Two Year Award is for study at member schools offering only freshman and sophomore instruction, or for use at a four-year member school by a graduate of a BEA two-year campus. All other scholarships are awarded to juniors, seniors and graduate students at BEA Member institutions.

Local Contact: Dr. Greg Newton

Audio Engineering Society Educational Foundation Scholarships

The Audio Engineering Society Educational Foundation is dedicated to encouraging the entry of talented students into the profession of audio engineering. Since its establishment in 1984, the Foundation has awarded grants for graduate studies to hundreds of exceptional applicants, many of whom have gone on to prominent and successful careers in the profession. Applications are accepted from students worldwide, awards are made annually, in August, and a recipient may apply for one-time renewal after the successful completion of at least one year of graduate studies. Payment will be sent directly to the graduate school on behalf of the student's tuition account.

Local Contact: Kyle P. Snyder